CourtsideOwners

Teams/Atlantic Division

Toronto Raptors

Rogers Communications, chaired by Edward Rogers, has owned 100% of Raptors parent company MLSE since 1 October 2026. It paid about C$9.58B in three steps; Forbes values the team at $5.9B, under its sixth controlling owner since 1993.

Team value$5.9BForbes, October 2026 · +9% in a year
Current owner paidNo clear priceNo team-only price, 2012 to 2026
Growth since 199849x$121M on the 1998 Forbes list
Owners since founding6Atlantic Division

Every owner since the start

  1. 2025-present
    Rogers Communications (Edward Rogers, chair)

    Bought Bell's 37.5% of MLSE for C$4.7B, effective 1 July 2025, reaching 75%; bought the last 25% from Kilmer Sports for C$4.35B on 1 October 2026

  2. 2012-2025
    Rogers and Bell, 37.5% each, with Larry Tanenbaum's Kilmer Sports at 25%

    Bought the 79.53% of MLSE held by Ontario Teachers for C$1.32B; closed August 2012

  3. 2003-2012
    Ontario Teachers pension plan

    Took control of MLSE in a July 2003 reorganisation, rising to about 58% and later 79.53%; prices not disclosed

  4. 1998-2003
    Maple Leaf Gardens Ltd, renamed MLSE in 1998 and controlled by Steve Stavro

    Bought the Raptors and their unfinished arena from Allan Slaight and Scotiabank for a reported C$467M (C$179M for the team)

  5. 1996-1998
    Allan Slaight

    Bought John Bitove's stake for C$65M in November 1996, reaching 79%; held 90% by late 1997

  6. 1993-1996
    John Bitove and Allan Slaight, 44% each

    Founding group; won the expansion team for a $125M fee

Value over time

Forbes estimate
  1. 11998 Maple Leaf Gardens buys, C$467M
  2. 22003 Ontario Teachers takes control
  3. 32012 Rogers and Bell buy in, C$1.32B
  4. 42025 Rogers reaches 75%, C$4.7B
  5. 52026 Rogers reaches 100%, C$4.35B
Forbes annual team values, 1998 to 2026. Forbes published no list in 2001, 2006 or 2010. Numbered lines mark changes of control.
Show the numbers
YearForbes value
1998$121M
1999$138M
2000$148M
2002$172M
2003$217M
2004$297M
2005$278M
2007$373M
2008$400M
2009$386M
2011$399M
2012$382M
2013$405M
2014$520M
2015$920M
2016$980M
2017$1.12B
2018$1.4B
2019$1.68B
2020$2.1B
2021$2.48B
2022$3.1B
2023$4.1B
2024$4.4B
2025$5.4B
2026$5.9B
YearSaleTeam valued at
2023OMERS pays US$400M for an indirect 5% of MLSE, implying about US$8B for MLSE (computed from price and stake) Not on the chart: this values the parent company, not the team alone.$8B
2025Rogers buys Bell's 37.5% of MLSE for C$4.7B (about US$3.45B); MLSE valued at C$12.5B, about US$9.2B implied (computed from price and stake) Not on the chart: this values the parent company, not the team alone.$9.2B
2026Rogers buys Kilmer's last 25% of MLSE for C$4.35B (US$3.06B); MLSE valued at C$17.4B, about US$12.2B implied (computed from price and stake) Not on the chart: this values the parent company, not the team alone.$12.24B

Forbes valued the Raptors at $121M in 1998 and $5.9B in 2026, about 49 times as much. The biggest one-year jump was $1.0B, in both 2023 and 2025; by percentage it was 2015, up 77%.

How the current owner bought it

  • Step one closed in August 2012. Rogers and Bell jointly bought the 79.53% of MLSE held by Ontario Teachers for C$1.32B; each took 37.5%.
  • Step two was announced in September 2024 and took effect on 1 July 2025. Rogers paid C$4.7B in cash for Bell's 37.5%, valuing MLSE at C$12.5B.
  • Step three was announced on 6 July 2026 and completed on 1 October 2026. Rogers used an option to buy Kilmer's 25% for C$4.35B in cash.
  • That price values MLSE at C$17.4B. Rogers paid with C$4.35B of short-term credit facilities, arranged in September 2026 and drawn in full on 1 October.

Partners in the team

Rogers has had no partners in MLSE since 1 October 2026. Larry Tanenbaum's Kilmer Sports has exited, as has OMERS, a pension fund that paid US$400M in 2023 for an indirect 5%.

How the team is run

  • Edward Rogers chairs MLSE. Keith Pelley, its president and CEO since April 2024, runs it day to day and now also leads Rogers Media.
  • Rogers has put MLSE, the Toronto Blue Jays and its sports media into one unit, Rogers Sports. It plans to sell a minority stake by mid-2027 to cut debt; its CFO said those investors will get no say in team decisions.
  • Masai Ujiri was removed as team president in June 2025, weeks after the NBA approved the move to 75%. Pelley said the decision was his, backed by the board.
  • General manager Bobby Webster has led basketball operations since August 2025. In June 2026 he was promoted to executive vice president on a multi-year extension.
  • The Toronto Star reported in 2021 that Edward Rogers tried to block Ujiri's contract extension. Tanenbaum, as governor, overruled him.

Quick answers

Who owns the Toronto Raptors?

Rogers Communications, chaired by Edward Rogers, has owned 100% of Raptors parent company MLSE since 1 October 2026.

How much are the Toronto Raptors worth?

Forbes values the Toronto Raptors at $5.9B in its October 2026 list, up 9% from $5.4B a year earlier. That makes them the 12th most valuable of the 30 teams; in 1998 Forbes put the team at $121M.

How much did the current owner pay for the Raptors?

No team-only price (Rogers Communications, 2012 to 2026).

Who owned the Toronto Raptors before the current owner?

Rogers and Bell, 37.5% each, with Larry Tanenbaum's Kilmer Sports at 25% (2012-2025). Bought the 79.53% of MLSE held by Ontario Teachers for C$1.32B; closed August 2012.

Open questions

  • The NBA governor after Larry Tanenbaum has not been named in any source found.
  • What OMERS received when Kilmer's 25% was sold was not reported.
  • Prices for the 2003, 2008 and 2011 changes in MLSE's shareholders were not disclosed.